top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoel D. Pinaroc

Tips on Capturing Nature Scenes: Ant Crossing

Updated: Sep 2, 2019

Two important lessons I learned while trying to capture "nature scenes" are; i) look for a good location; and ii) be patient and spend a bit of time observing the surroundings.


I like to take macro photos of nature scenes, particularly insects going about their business.

In taking these photos, I had to be as inconspicuous as I can, and made sure I did not disturb my subjects.


A cluster of orchids near my parents' house is often one of the first places I go to, whenever I want to photograph ants.


Mama Evie would often arranged her orchids side by side, supported by old logs that resemble "driftwood." Papa Joe would do the hard work of lining up, securing and setting up the logs before Mama Evie can arrange her orchids.


ants, red, black, insect, wild
A much bigger weaver ant seems to cast a menacing look at a pair of black ants.

Inevitably, ants would often use "connected" logs to travel from one orchid to another. One would often see black ants cross a path with much bigger red weaver ants at an orchid cluster in Mama Evie's garden. These paths are often the overlapping roots of orchids, clinging to the old wood.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
00:00 / 26:43
bottom of page