top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoel D. Pinaroc

The Many Uses of the Canon 55-250mm Lens

Updated: Aug 16, 2020

I mentioned in one of the previous posts that I recently got a new Canon 55-250mm lens courtesy of my brother who bought the unit abroad.


So far, the Canon 55-250mm lens which I am pairing with my Canon 1300D body is a very useful and versatile lens for me.



Telephoto and macro lens in one


Aside from its telephoto capabilities, it also has a macro feature that allows me to get closer to a subject for a modest macro photo. How close? I can get as close as 2 feet 8 inches to my subject which can result to fairly "large" subjects filling up the frame of my camera.



While the magnification is not comparable to "true" macro lenses and even lenses paired with macro extension tubes, I find this a fascinating and convenient feature. The reason is that I can take modest macro photos and also use the zoom to take photos of subjects that are a bit far.


Thus, I no longer need to change lenses whenever I want to take a photo of a small insect, after taking a photo of a bird in flight, for instance.



Quiet focusing with STM


It was also a welcome surprise for me to discover that the Canon 55-250mm lens is very quiet, when it comes to focusing. Usually, a whirring sound is often heard when a lens is in the process of auto focusing. The sound is not particularly noticeable and in my experience, is not that big an issue.


However, the advantages of a silent motor are very noticeable, particularly when you're taking close up pictures.


The Canon 55-250mm motor silent due to the "STM" features of its lens, according to Canon. "STM" stands for "stepping motor" and is a technology that lessens the mechanical noise that a lens creates when it starts to focus.



The photos


Below are a few more photos which were taken were from a nearby rice field near my parents' home. I distinctly remember that the fog was still thick, but the sun was already up when I started my photo walk.


The early morning dew proved to be a very good element of the photos I was able to take.


Here are a few photos:





533 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
00:00 / 26:43
bottom of page