top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoel D. Pinaroc

Learning Product Photography

Updated: Oct 22, 2019

I just started taking photos of products particularly vintage watches which are owned by a collector friend.


This is my first foray into product photography and indoor shooting. This is a very good alternative when I am not out on the field on photowalks.


One of the first things I did was set up my own do-it-yourself (DIY) lighting booth for the product shoot. My set up was a bit crude; with one lamp as a main source of light, a second lamp serving as backup.


I used a small white cardboard and several clear plastic as light diffusers and reflectors. For my background, I simply propped the whole setup against a white wall.


I had to experiment a lot with DIY setup. This was necessary as I was trying to eliminate the reflections and shadows particularly on the edges of the watches. The DIY setup was meant for me to manipulate or control light, but it turned out that this is easier said than done.


There is a lot to learn from this style of photography and I hope to become better and improve my shooting.


Below are a few photos:





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
00:00 / 26:43
bottom of page