top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoel D. Pinaroc

The Joys of Macrophotography

Updated: Aug 18, 2019

Close-up pictures of insects have always fascinated me ever since I have gotten hold of those science and biology textbooks way back when I was in school.


What is macrophotography?

I came to know that this way of taking close-up photos is called "macrophotography." I do not really know the other  technical jargons, but macrophotography essentially captures details of a subject that are not usually visible to the naked eye.


Truth be told, the very first thing I wanted to learn was to take close-up pictures in the hopes of replicating what I have seen on those science and biology books. I just thought that it is a more rewarding endeavor for an enthusiast like me, compared to other forms of photography like portraiture or landscape.


I also still think portraiture and landscape photography are much more difficult than macrophotography. But I could be wrong. Also, I do plan to venture further and eventually learn how to take portraits and landscapes. For now, however macrophotography (at least the basics), remains my favorite form of photography.




Moth, macrophotography, photography, nature
A dainty moth.

In most of the photos here, I had to use manual focusing. And this is not easy. It is not the lack of subject or subjects to focus on, but more the challenge of controlling my shaky hands.

This means it also takes a lot of patience to get that photo that is good enough for me.

​

So far, this method of photography has been the most rewarding.


With my modest gear, I had to crouch, sneak up and concentrate a lot to focus on the subject or subjects. The crouching is particularly uncomfortable and not good for the knees, but the satisfaction comes after I am able to take a photo that I like after trying to get it several times. 


insect, flower, photography
A small insect atop a sweet potato flower.





36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
00:00 / 26:43
bottom of page